88 results total, viewing 1 - 10
Austin Byerly recently graduated from the University of Tennessee and is getting ready to attend Duke Divinity School in Durham, N.C. on a full scholarship. In August, he will begin studies toward … more
Lake Forest Middle School has released its list of honor students following the fourth nine-week grading period of the 2017-18 year. GOLD HONOR ROLL:SIXTH GRADE — Cameron Achata, James Arthur, … more
Volunteer Energy announces scholarship recipients 
Volunteer Energy Cooperative has announced four recipients of the Lillard-Shadow Scholarships for 2018. 
Hannah Caitlyn Asberry, daughter of Scott and Bobbie Joe Kirby, is a 2018 graduate of Alvin C. York Agricultural Institute and the winner of the Jamestown Service Area Lillard-Shadow Scholarship. She plans to attend Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville and will be pursuing a degree in nursing. She graduated No. 4 in her class with a 4.0 GPA. 
Cleveland Service Area Lillard-Shadow scholarship winner Kelby Fritts, daughter of Rhonda McKnight, is a 2018 graduate of Polk County High School. She plans to attend the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and pursue a chemical Engineering degree. She graduated with a 4.0 from and was ranked second in her graduating class. During her high school years, she volunteered with People Helping People, Paint Polk Pink, assisted the Chilhowee Middle Basketball coach, and ran a can food drive. 
Stone Memorial High School graduate and Crossville Service Area Lillard-Shadow scholarship recipient Jordan Ann Houston plans to attend Tennessee Tech University. Jordan is the daughter of Kenneth and Vickie Houston. She graduated from Stone Memorial with a 4.0. At Tech, she plans to pursue a degree in Biochemistry. She has a history of serving others as she participated with Kids on the Rise, was a 4-H teen leader, Beta Club president, HOSA Club president and on the SMHS Cheer Squad. While on the cheer squad, she volunteers with the Special Olympics, Relay for Life, House of Hope and St. Jude. Her teachers described her as a genuinely kind person who seeks to include others in projects, and who is respected by peers and faculty alike. 
Rhea County High School graduate Isabelle Grace Marshall is the Decatur Service Area winner of the Lillard Shadow Scholarship. The daughter of Joni Ann Marshall, she graduated with 4.0.  She will be attending the University of Southern California to major in international business and entrepreneurship. She has a history of volunteering including but not limited to Rhea County Animal Hospital, Rhea County Sheriff’s Department Toy Drive, JROTC Canned Food Drive, and the Ronald McDonald House Charities. 
This scholarship program began in 2003 as a way to honor Willis A. Shadow and J. W. Lillard, founders of the Meigs County Power Association which would ultimately become Volunteer Energy Cooperative.  Four $2,000 scholarships are awarded to high school seniors each year by VEC using an independent panel of judges. more
North Lee Elementary School has recognized its honor students from the third nine-week grading period of the 2017-18 year. FOURTH GRADE• All A’s — Rachel Bivens, Mitchell Brown, Cael … more
Lee Voice Students Place at NATS more
Families who wish to have their students attend Ocoee Middle School this fall will have their chance to register next month. The school will be conducting its Open Enrollment/Out of Zone … more
Eckert Receives Zeno C. Tharp Award By Olivia Webb   Lee University senior Nick Eckert was awarded the 2018 Zeno C. Tharp Award during the university’s Honors Chapel last month.   Established in 1955, this annual award is given to a Lee senior who shows the greatest promise of making a significant contribution to the Church. It is named in honor of the sixth president of Lee, who served from 1935-44. Each department may nominate one student for the award, and of these nominees, a winner is selected by faculty vote.   Eckert was nominated by Dr. Joseph Daft, assistant professor of biology, and Dr. Mark Walker, who serves as professor of pastoral studies, vice president for ministerial development, and chairperson for the Department of Christian Ministries.   Eckert is from Sellersburg, Indiana, and is pursuing an intercultural studies major with a biology minor. He will graduate in Lee’s May commencement summa cum laude.   “Nick was one of the best students I’ve ever had,” said Daft. “His ability to take what he learned in class and apply it to more complex questions is second to none. He is such an incredible example of how science and religion can be used by someone to give us a glimpse of the Kingdom in today’s world.”   Eckert has been on multiple mission trips including to Kenya with Shepherd’s Heart International, where he helped with media and information for orphanage-donor relations; to Haiti with Northwest Haiti Christian Mission, where he rebuilt churches and orphanages; and to Guatemala several times with Casas Por Cristo, where he built houses for church members.    Eckert also spent 10 weeks in Jerusalem, where he organized and taught English for at-risk students, aided communities of Syrian and Iraqi refugees, and encouraged members of the persecuted church.   “I plan to use my training in intercultural studies and my medical education to bring holistic healing and the hope of the Gospel to the most underserved and least engaged parts of the world,” said Eckert.   Eckert has helped the integration of immigrants as a co-leader of the International Friends Network (IFN). He is also a co-founder of Conversation Corner, which is through IFN, where he assists internationals in developing conversational English language skills.   “Nominating Nick Eckert was not difficult,” said Walker. “The combination of his excellent academic and global ministry effectiveness made it easy to choose Nick, but it is his passion that sets him apart. You cannot spend any time with Nick and not hear his passion to carry the physical and spiritual Gospel of Jesus Christ to the most forgotten and overlooked people groups in the world. We felt this made him the perfect candidate for the Zeno Tharp Award.”     PHOTO: Dr. Debbie Murray, vice president of Academic Affairs, is pictured here congratulating Nick Eckert for receiving the Zeno C. Tharp award at a recent chapel service.   ### more
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 9 | Next »
Currently viewing stories posted within the past 90 days.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.


Print subscribers have FREE access to by registering HERE

Non-subscribers have limited monthly access to local stories, but have options to subscribe to print, web or electronic editions by clicking HERE

We are sorry but you have reached the maximum number of free local stories for this month. If you have a website account here, please click HERE to log in for continued access.

If you are a print subscriber but do not have an account here, click HERE to create a website account to gain unlimited free access.

Non-subscribers may gain access by subscribing to any of our print or electronic subscriptions HERE