Poll site change is OK’d
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Mar 16, 2014 | 1007 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Some polling site changes were discussed during a meeting of the Bradley County Elections Commission as the May 6 primary approaches.

Two points brought up during the meeting were concerning early voting locations and a regular voting day site change.

According to Fran Green, Bradley County elections administrator, the mobile voting precinct will be located in Sterling Point/Treasury Drive.

The MVP has been located for a number of years at the Bi-Lo Plaza on McGrady Drive.

Officials also discussed and approved changing the community services voting location to the former Blythe Avenue School, which now houses the Family Support Center.

Early voting sites also include Bradley Square Mall, where officials are currently looking at an area which housed a Regis Hair Salon, according to Green.

Additional details regarding early voting will be forthcoming.

Early voting begins April 16 for the May primary.

Commissioners also approved the qualifying petitions for 68 residents who will be listed on the May 6 Primary ballot.

Appearing on the ballot will be:

- Constable —

District 1

Darrin Brantley (R), Charles V. Carroll (R), Thomas Kimsey (R) and Garry D. Moore (R);

District 2

Richard “Dickie” Alford (R);

District 3

Jason Corum (R) and Jessie Hughes Jr. (R);

District 4

Wayne J. Henry (R);

District 5

Steve Anderson (R) and Johnny Miller (R);

District 6

Charles Dunson Sr. (R), Cody Herron (R), Dewayne Hicks (R) and Jeffrey Lewis (R);

District 7

R.D. Jackson (R) and Brent Runyon (R).

- Circuit Court Clerk —

Gayla Miller (R).

- Circuit Judge —

Part 1

Larry Puckett (R);

Part 2

Mike Sharp (R);

Part 3

William J. (Bill) Brown (R), Andrew Mark Freiberg (R) and Chal Thompson (R), who filed in Monroe County.

- County Clerk —

Donna Alley Simpson (R).

- Chancellor —

Jerri Saunders Bryant (R), who filed in McMinn County.

- County Commission —

District 1

Terry Caywood (R), Denis L. Collins (R), Tom Collins (R) and Mike Hughes (R);

District 2

Louie Alford (R), John Burns (R), Thomas L. Crye (R) and Tammy Salmond Wingo (R);

District 3

Milan Blake (R), Jeff D. Morelock (D) and Johnny Mull (R);

District 4

Charlotte Peak Jones (R), June L. Montgomery (R), Carol “Peaches” Searles (R) and Howard L. Thompson (R);

District 5

Briant K. Berry (R), Jack E. Burke Jr. (D), Bobby Goins (R), Floyd Wade Jr. (R) and Jeff Yarber (R);

District 6

John David Cochran (R), Melvin “Mel” Griffith (R), Ronny E. Keller (R), Ellis Julian Laughter (D), Tom D. Ledford (R), Daniel D. Rawls (R) and Robert D. Rominger (R);

District 7

Pam Edgemon (D), Mark Hall (R) and William E. (Bill) Winters Jr (R).

- County Mayor —

D. Gary Davis (R).

- Criminal Court Judge 10th Judicial District —

Sandra N.C. Donaghy (R), Amy Armstrong Reedy (D) and Van Irion (R), who filed in Monroe Co.

- District Attorney General —

Steve Crump (R) and Stephen Hatchett (R), who filed in McMinn Co.

- General Sessions Judge —

Division 1

Daniel R. Swafford (R);

Division 2

Barrett T. Painter (R), Sheridan C. Randolph (R) and Shari Lynn Tayloe (R).

- Public Defender —

Richard Hughes (R).

- Register of Deeds —

Dina Swafford (R).

- Road Superintendent —

Sandra N. Knight (R) and James “Edd” Lewis (R).

- Trustee —

Mike Smith (R).

- Sheriff — 

James Richard Ruth (R) and Eric Watson (R).

Some of these elections will be determined May 6, while others will proceed to the August general and state primary round.