Six Lady Flames named NAIA All-Americans
by From Lee Sports Information
Dec 04, 2012 | 823 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
NAIA All-Americans
view slideshow (2 images)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Four Lee Lady Flames were named first-team All-Americans by The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) on Monday. The NAIA All-America committee, which is comprised of the NAIA-Women's Soccer Coaches Association officers and seven additional women's soccer coaches, select the three teams.

"I am really pleased for the players we had recognized and believe that all of them are richly deserving of the recognition,” said coach Matt Yelton. “Every player that we had named to the team works exceptionally hard at her game and the improvement they show from year to year is due to the amount of pride they take in their individual game."

Juniors Ode Fulutudilu and Leah Fortune earned spots on the elite squad for the second straight year. Fulutudilu, a forward, recorded 10 goals and dished off 10 assists this season in helping Lee post a 20-1-2 record. Fortune, a midfielder, finished with a team-leading 16 goals and 10 assists.

A couple of senior wingers, who often pushed the attack for the Lady Flames, also garnered spots on the first unit. Amy Cochran and Caroline Scales joined the list of 13 first-teamers. Senior Kim Conrad and sophomore Laura Thacker were named to the second team.

"I was particularly pleased for our group of defenders that received recognition, as they many times get overlooked in our success,” noted Yelton. “Our program would not be where it is today without the quality of defending that we have got from our team over the last five years."

Earlier in the week eight Lady Flames were named 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Women's Soccer Scholar-Athletes. Junior Danielle Ciabattone, senior Amy Cochran, senior Kim Conrad, junior Leah Fortune, junior Elizabeth Hagan, senior Clair Lanter Lee and senior Caroline Scales were honored. To be listed as a Scholar-Athlete the student must have reached her junior year and recorded a 3.50 GPA.

Lindsey Wilson's (Ky.) Mia Persson, a native of Sjobo, Sweden, was named the 2012 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year. Persson is the third Blue Raider in program history to receive the award since its inception in 1985. The senior midfielder, who is No. 1 on Lindsey Wilson's all-time scoring list with 72 career goals in 94 matches, capped her final campaign by leading the Blue Raiders to the program’s third national championship with a win over Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), 3-2, on Dec. 1.

The 2012 Select Sport America-NAIA Women's Soccer National Coach of the Year will be announced at the National Soccer Coaches' Association of America (NSCAA) National Convention held in Indianapolis Jan. 16-20.

2012 NAIA Women's Soccer

All-America Team

First Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown

Elizabet Madjarac Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) F Jr. Brondby Strand, Denmark

Jordan Davidson Vanguard (Calif.) F Jr. Tucson, Ariz.

Krizzy Menez Embry-Riddle (Fla.) F Sr. Key West, Fla.

Ode Fulutudilu^ Lee (Tenn.) F Jr. Capetown, South Africa

Aolani Rueff Westmont (Calif.) MF Sr. Santa Ynez, Calif.

Hannah Kinsey Concordia (Ore.) MF Jr. Vancouver, Wash.

Leah Fortune^ Lee (Tenn.) MF Jr. West Chicago, Ill.

Mia Persson$*^ Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Sr. Sjobo, Sweden

Amy Cochran^ Lee (Tenn.) D Sr. Yorba Linda, Calif.

Caroline Scales Lee (Tenn.) D Sr. Chattanooga, Tenn.

Jenna Peterson Concordia (Ore.) D Sr. Federal Way, Wash.

Renee Hurd Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) D Jr. Pensacola, Fla.

Matilda Ojaniemi Northwood (Fla.) GK Jr. Kalmar, Sweden

Second Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown

Ashley Correa^ Westmont (Calif.) F Sr. Lynwood, Wash.

Gisela Arrieta Graceland (Iowa) F Sr. Valledupar, Colombia

Helen Lynskey^ Northwood (Fla.) F Jr. Rotherham, England

Valerie Obita Embry-Riddle (Fla.) F Jr. Gothenburg, Sweden

Amanda Couch Vanguard (Calif.) MF Sr. Sacramento, Calif.

Jordan Dolbin Baker (Kan.) MF Sr. La Mirada, Calif.

Laura Thacker^ Lee (Tenn.) MF So. Norwich, England

Natasha Gensetter Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Fr. Hegnau, Switzerland

Devin Johnston Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) D Sr. Bloomingdale, Ill.

Helenna Hanson Embry-Riddle (Fla.) D Fr. Eskilstuna, Sweden

Kim Conrad Lee (Tenn.) D Sr. Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Lauren Evans Vanguard (Calif.) D Sr. Aliso Viejo, Calif.

Lindsay Kitson Cumberland (Tenn.) GK So. Edmonton, Alberta

Third Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown

Karly Linton^ Spring Arbor (Mich.) F Jr. Midland, Mich.

Esther Anyanwu Brenau (Ga.) F Jr. Lagos, Nigeria

Florence Dadson^ Robert Morris (Ill.) F Jr. Cape Coast, Ghana

Kelsey Langille Cumberland (Tenn.) F Fr. Androssan, Alberta

Braydan Wiles Spring Arbor (Mich.) MF Sr. Pendleton, Ind.

Mor Effraim Martin Methodist (Tenn.) MF Sr. Nevatim, Israel

Violette Maddox Mobile (Ala.) MF Sr. Auburn, Ala.

Yadira Toraya Kansas Wesleyan MF Sr. Oxnard, Calif.

Shelby Schiraldi Baker (Kan.) D So. Lenexa, Kan.

Stephanie Cummins^ Northwest (Wash.) D Sr. Renton, Wash.

Tova Torstenson*^ Embry-Riddle (Fla.) D Jr. Stockholm, Sweden

Tracey Tiernon Indiana Wesleyan D So. Fort Wayne, Ind.

Lauren Terry Vanguard (Calif.) GK So. Corona, Calif.

$ denotes 2009 All-American

* denotes 2010 All-American

^ denotes 2011 All-American