Board grants tenure to 34 city teachers


Posted 12/13/17

The Cleveland Board of Education unanimously voted to grant tenure to 34 teachers during its meeting on Monday night. “This is one of the biggest duties we have as a school board and as a …

This item is available in full to subscribers

Board grants tenure to 34 city teachers


The Cleveland Board of Education unanimously voted to grant tenure to 34 teachers during its meeting on Monday night. 

“This is one of the biggest duties we have as a school board and as a superintendent,” said Director of Schools Dr. Russell Dyer. 

Cathy Goodman, assistant director of schools, explained the 34 teachers were eligible for tenure after they had each been teaching a minimum of five years, or 45 months, within a seven-year period. 

If a teacher serves for that amount of time and does especially well on his or her evaluations for the latter two years of that period, the director of schools can recommend tenure. 

“That means they have all attained evaluations denoting an overall effectiveness level of ‘above expectations,’ which is a 4 on a 5-point scale, or ‘significantly above,’ which is a 5, during the past two years of their probationary period,” said Goodman. 

Dyer said he was pleased to honor these accomplished teachers and presented each of them with certificates. Board members shook hands with all of them and offered their congratulations. 

The teachers who received tenure were: 

• Arnold Memorial Elementary: Meghan Blackmon, Lisa Eason, Tracy Lenz and Mary K. Runyan; 

• Blythe-Bower Elementary: Kim Davison and Amanda Matson; 

• Cleveland High: Sarah L. Brown, Colin Campbell, Brian DeLoach, Caitlin DeLoach, Alex Denton, Adam Renshaw and Miranda Whittington; 

• Cleveland Middle: Valerie Helmstetter, Kristina Higgins, Kathy McGraw, Amy McGowan, Kerry O’Connor, Christopher Trey Stanford and Eric Stiles, 

• E.L. Ross Elementary: Kristin Morgan; 

• F.I. Denning Center: Blair Deacon; 

• Donald P. Yates Primary: Ashley Painter and Belinda Rahn, 

• Mayfield Elementary: Shasta Adams, Elisabeth Botta, Jeanette Fraizer, Margaret Moore, Angela Moore, Mary Ann Poplin and Anita Renshaw; 

• George R. Stuart Elementary: Tiffany Brocato, Natalie Killian and Mindy Kiser. 

Also during the meeting, the board voted to approve the rubric by which it will give Dyer his annual evaluation. 

Board members will schedule individual meetings with Dyer and will fill out their evaluation forms in January. They expect to complete the evaluation process in February. 

Though it is not even 2018 yet, the board also voted to approve the school system’s calendar for the 2019-20 school year. This calendar has classes starting Aug. 5, 2019, and it includes a weeklong Thanksgiving break. 


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment


Print subscribers have FREE access to by registering HERE

Non-subscribers have limited monthly access to local stories, but have options to subscribe to print, web or electronic editions by clicking HERE

We are sorry but you have reached the maximum number of free local stories for this month. If you have a website account here, please click HERE to log in for continued access.

If you are a print subscriber but do not have an account here, click HERE to create a website account to gain unlimited free access.

Non-subscribers may gain access by subscribing to any of our print or electronic subscriptions HERE