Johnny Mull elected county commission chair

Posted 9/5/18

For the first time in 10 years, the Bradley County Commission has a new chairman, District 3 Commissioner Johnny Mull. He was elected Tuesday night in a unanimous vote during the Commission meeting. 

This item is available in full to subscribers

Johnny Mull elected county commission chair


For the first time in 10 years, the Bradley County Commission has a new chairman, District 3 Commissioner Johnny Mull. He was elected Tuesday night in a unanimous vote during the commission meeting. 

Longtime Chairman Louie Alford opted not to seek re-election as chairman.

Vice Chairman Jeff Yarber was nominated to maintain that position and that vote was also unanimous.

Mull said he appreciates the “vote of confidence” from his fellow commissioners. He thanked Alford for his service as chairman, as well as for mentoring him over the years. Mull also said Bradley County is “blessed” to have a diverse commission “but I believe we all share one common trait: We all love Bradley County …”

Mull asked that the commissioners take a moment to honor Alford for serving as chairman from 2001 to 2018.

“You have left a legacy which will have an impact on Bradley County,” Mull said before presenting a ceremonial gavel to Alford.

The commissioners took the opportunity during their individual reports to congratulate Mull and Yarber, to thank Alford and welcome the four new commissioners sworn-into office earlier in the day: Erica Davis, Dennis Epperson, Tim Mason and Kevin Raper.

Commissioner Bill Winters welcomed the new commissioners, especially his fellow District 7 commissioner, Raper.

Raper thanked Alford as a fellow educator and person active in the community. “I really appreciate all you’ve done, Mr. Alford,” Raper said.

Davis said at the swearing-in ceremony earlier in the day as she stood on the steps of the Bradley County Courthouse that she was humbled so many people voted for her to represent her district. Her fellow District 6 commissioner, Mason, said it is great to be part of the county commission.

Commissioners Bobby Goins, Howard Thompson and Charlotte Peak also thanked Alford for his service. Peak added she is glad to serve another four years.

“I’m not used to talking,” said Alford, who as chairman kept meetings on track but did not often engage in discussion. He added he is looking forward to working with the new commission, and thanked all the commissioners he’s worked with over the years. “We’ve accomplished a whole lot.”

Yarber thanked his fellow commissioners for “entrusting me to be your vice chairman this year.”

Commissioner Milan Blake congratulated Mull and the new commissioners, as well as Alford “for all your hard work.”

Commissioner Mike Hughes also offered his congratulations and welcomed his fellow District 1 commissioner, Dennis Epperson.

“I look forward to the next four years,” Epperson said, adding he is humbled by the voters who elected him.

Dr. Linda Cash, director of Bradley County Schools, spoke during the portion of the meeting set aside for comments from the audience. She thanked the commission “for the great support that you have given Bradley County Schools,” especially Alford, who made her feel welcome when she took the director’s job three years ago.

“Your leadership has been tremendous and I thank you for that,” Cash said to the full commission.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment


Print subscribers have FREE access to by registering HERE

Non-subscribers have limited monthly access to local stories, but have options to subscribe to print, web or electronic editions by clicking HERE

We are sorry but you have reached the maximum number of free local stories for this month. If you have a website account here, please click HERE to log in for continued access.

If you are a print subscriber but do not have an account here, click HERE to create a website account to gain unlimited free access.

Non-subscribers may gain access by subscribing to any of our print or electronic subscriptions HERE