KO Legacy dances its way to championship
Mar 20, 2011 | 1121 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The KO Legacy All-Star Dance Team, recently competed in the Universal Dance Association Georgia Dance Championship in Atlanta, and the Cheersport Grand Championship in Lexington, Ky., at Rupp Arena.

Participants won five first-place awards and one second place.

They competed in Atlanta on Feb. 26 against teams from the Southeast and won first place in Senior Jazz, first place in senior hip-hop, and first place in junior jazz.

On March 12 in Lexington, the all-star dancers won second place in junior hip-hop, first place in senior high jazz and first place in senior high hip-hop.

To win the hip-hop championship title, the KO dancers defeated the Cheer and Tumble Dance Team from Grayson, Ky., the Flip and Twist All-Star Dance Team from Ferdinand, Ind., the Ultimate Cheer of Cincinnati, the Swag Dance Team from Fairfield, Ohio, and the United All Stars from Charlestown, Ind.

The highlight of the evening was when the talented KO Legacy dancers were named the recipient of the full-paid-bid winners to the Cheersport All-Levels World competition coming later this season. The award was given to top two teams in the competition.

Kelly Owens, the KO Legacy All Stars dance coach said, “We were all so excited to not only win the senior-high division jazz and hip-hop championship titles, but receive the special honor as well.

“The team has worked so hard in our first year to make a name for ourselves, and we definitely did in Lexington,” she added. “We all have busy schedules, and we have worked around them. The girls’ hard work and diligence has definitely paid off. I am so proud and honored to coach such a dedicated group of young ladies. Their passion for competition is definitely evident. They want to win, and they do.”

KO Legacy dancers are Maria Boone, Hannah Kalb, Ariana Kim, Elizabeth Brooks, Jessica Greene, Keiosha Harrison, Danielle Farrell, Kelli Urbina, Ashley Beaty, Aimee Barnett, Abby Thomasson, Ashlee Horner, Laura Hays, Lexy Boone, Emily Hicks, Sara Riggle, Madison Pemberton, Mary Martha Maddox, Ana Rocha, Annie Hobbs, Sonia Heming and Erin Cooper.