Deadline to register to vote is Monday
by By GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Feb 05, 2012 | 1003 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting for the 2012 presidential preference and several local offices approaches and registration deadline to vote is Monday.

Qualifying deadline for August elections is April 5.

Those registered voters who wish to cast their votes will be able to beginning Feb. 15 through 28, Monday through Saturday.

Monday through Friday, early voting sites will be open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. On Saturdays, the sites will be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

Three locations will be provided, according to Fran Green, Bradley County Elections administrator.

BI-LO on McGrady Drive, the Community Room at Bradley Square Mall and the Bradley County Elections Office will be the early voting sites.

Regarding registration to vote during the upcoming Presidential Preference, residents of Bradley County have several options.

The Department of Human Services, specially designated government offices, the Tennessee Drivers Service Center and the Bradley County Elections offices are all available as a resource for registration forms.

Proof of residency is required and downloadable forms are available at Forms for registration can also be obtained at the library and post offices.

Green said voters should check their voting status if they have moved within the county but failed to transfer registration and did not vote during two November General elections, or changed names. Those who may have moved outside the county should also check voting status regarding proper precinct placement.

Officials have been busy in making sure voters know of law changes such as the new Voter ID requirement.

Tennessee Drivers Service Centers have been providing new ID cards to voters who may not have proper photo identification.

Elections commissioners have confirmed the concession building at Blue Springs Park is the official voting site for that precinct. April 27 tornadoes damaged Blue Springs Elementary School and officials pondered several sites in the area and decided this month the concessions building would be adequate and familiar to voters who use that location to cast their ballot.

Other precincts are; McDonald Ruritan Club, Hopewell Elementary, Prospect Elementary, E.L. Ross Elementary, Michigan Avenue Elementary, Valley View Elementary, Waterville Elementary, Black Fox Elementary, Blythe-Bower Elementary and Stuart Elementary as well as Cleveland High School, Walker Valley High School, Lee University and the Senior Center.

These polling places will be open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on v March 6.

Seven people have shown interest in the 4th District Commission seat currently held by Cliff Eason.

Eason, Charles Bagley Jr., Paul Elrod, Charlotte Jones, James Peters and Jim Smith returned their paperwork to the elections office and will be placed on the ballot, according to Green.

Edd Lewis holds the constable position for District 7. He will go unchallenged on the ballot.

The race for Bradley County Assessor of Property is also on the Presidential preference ballot. Stanley Thompson submitted qualifying paperwork for the office he has held several terms, Green reported.

Republican Convention candidates also will be on the coming 2012 ballot.

In August, the Bradley County General and County General elections will be held.

The following people have picked up nominating petitions to run for County School board: Ben Atchley, Bradley Montgomery and Christopher Turner; District 1; Melvin “Teddy” Bryson, District 3; Rodney Dillard, District 5; and Charlie Rose and Greg Cain, District 7, according to Green.

During the August state and federal elections, Charleston City and Cleveland city votes are to be cast.

According to Mimi Angel, deputy administrator at the Bradley County Elections Office, Tony Whitener has picked up paperwork for one of two Charleston City Council positions.

In two City School Board seats in Cleveland, George Poe will seek to keep his seat in the City Council At-Large race and George Meacham has picked up petition paperwork for City School Board District 1.

City School Board At-Large and District 2 seats are also to be on the ballot.