Adcox Memorial set for Saturday
Sep 13, 2012 | 347 views | 0 0 comments | 2 2 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Cleveland Speedway is gearing up for the 23rd edition of the Grant Adcox Memorial Saturday night. The 40-lap, Main Event will be sanctioned by the Southern All-Star series and will pay $3,500. It is expected to draw a large contingent of regional dirt Super Late Model race teams.

The late Adcox, a native of Chattanooga, made it to the NASCAR big leagues before his untimely death at the Atlanta Motor Speedway on Nov. 19 1989, during the Atlanta Journal 500 weekend.

Adcox took a Top 5 at the Winston 500 at Talladega Super Speedway, which was his career best NASCAR finish. Today, the ARCA sportsmanship H.G. Adcox Award is named in Adcox's honor and is awarded annually by his father. Local track racing insider owner/promoter Ronnie Willkomm carries on the tradition of the event at the Cleveland racing facility which has hosted the Memorial since 2004.

Scott Sexton, of Pigeon Forge, took the checkers in 2004. Only one racer has repeated as winner since the venue has moved to Cleveland. Dale McDowell took event wins in 2007-08. But, it was Ray Cook who took the checkers in 2009 after weather pushed the event back a month. in 2010, local racer Riley Hickman, of Ooltewah, took home the top prize.

Most recently, East Tennessee engine mogul Vic Hill took the checkers at last season’s event. Hill could be seeking to re-acquaint himself with Victory Lane and its annual visit by Grant's father Herb, who along with longtime family friend Jack Harper, join the victors. Other past winners include; Illinois racer Randy Korte, and from the North Carolina area, Shawn Chastain.

A full regular racing program will be presented in all divisions. A & B Hobby, Pony and FWDs are on the undercard along with the special LLM/Crate 30-lap feature race paying $1,200. Already this season there have been three different winners in S.A.S competition at Cleveland's dirt track.

Jimmy Owens, of Newport, took the Shamrock in April, Skip Arp, of Georgetown, claimed the Tennessee Memorial in May and recently defending series champion Billy Ogle Jr., of Knoxville, claimed the Jean Johnson Memorial.