Carmichael is Farm Credit director candidate
Sep 23, 2012 | 1243 views | 0 0 comments | 2 2 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Ten farmers have been nominated to fill five board of director positions at Farm Credit Mid-America, one of the largest agriculture lending cooperatives in the nation serving more than 95,000 farmers and agribusinesses throughout Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee.

Ballots were mailed to voting members last week who have until Oct. 12 to cast their ballots.

Included on the ballot is Russ Carmichael of Riceville. Carmichael’s farm operation consists of dairy, poultry, grain and hay.

He received a degree in agriculture from Middle Tennessee State University. Carmichael is a director with Volunteer Energy Cooperative. He is also a member of the Tennessee Dairy Producers Association, Tennessee Farm Bureau and Dairy Farmers of America. He currently serves on the Farm Credit Advisory Committee in Athens.

“One of the core values of a cooperative is customers have an equal say in decisions that impact how their association is run. Those decisions are voiced through their elected representatives underscoring the importance of participating in the election process,” said George Stebbins, chair of Farm Credit’s Board of Directors.

The board is comprised of 16 elected directors – four from each state the association serves. Two independent directors also serve on the board. Directors meet monthly to set policy and provide overall direction for the association. Board terms are four years and one position per state is up for election each year. This year, a fifth position with a two-year term, is on the ballet due to a vacancy left by Farm Credit Director Ernie Diggs of Tennessee who was elected to serve on the AgriBank Farm Credit Bank’s Board earlier this year.

On the same ballot, customers will elect members to the 2013 Farm Credit Nominating Committee. This committee is comprised of 20 members – five members from each state the association serves. Representatives of the Nominating Committee will meet next June to select candidates for the 2013 elected positions.

The 10 board candidates are Dan Arnholt, Columbus, Ind.; Kevin Cox – Brazil, Ind.; John Kuegel Jr. – Owensboro, Ky.; Jimmy Mays – Scottsville, Ky.; Lowell Hill – DeGraff, Ohio; Bill Patterson – Chesterland, Ohio; Donald Blakenship – Murfreesboro; Russ Carmichael – Riceville; Hugh Adams – Dresden; and Larry Jones – Oakland.