Bradley County Honor Choir to present second concert
by Special to the Banner
Oct 28, 2012 | 1081 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print

The elementary music teachers of Bradley County Schools are pleased to announce the second annual Bradley County Honor Choir in concert on Thursday, Nov. 1, 2012. The free community performance will be held at 6:30 p.m. in the former First Baptist Church on the Lee University campus. Ten students in fourth or fifth grades from each of the 11 county elementary schools will participate in the mass choir under the direction of guest clinician LuAnn Holden.

Holden is an assistant professor of music education at Lee University teaching vocal and general music methods courses and supervising student teachers. Fourteen years’ experience teaching music in K-12 public schools provides a basis for her collegiate teaching as well as her work as artistic director of the Chattanooga Girls Choir. Holden provides the artistic vision for this nonprofit, five-tier community choir with an average membership of 150 singers from throughout the greater Chattanooga area. Other professional activities include presenting at state and regional conferences on topics relating to choral rehearsal techniques such as visual imagery, critical thinking, and assessment. Holden frequently conducts state and regional honor choirs, adjudicates choral festivals, serves as a clinician for choir workshops, and writes choral music reviews for publication in the Choral Journal.

The mission of Bradley County Honor Choir is to enrich the lives of participating students and audiences by preparing the mind and body to make beautiful music through rehearsal and performance of high quality literature, and to unite the Bradley County community through the arts. Bradley County Elementary Supervisor, Sheena Newman, strongly supports music education through quality professional development opportunities, and by providing appropriate materials and technology for the music classroom.

"Last year, our first Honor Choir in Bradley County Schools was one of the most moving performances I have ever attended. I believe the angels paused to listen as our children raised their voices in harmony. You will not want to miss this performance," Newman stated

The program on Thursday will include treble choral selections in a variety of styles including “Artza Alinu,” an Israeli dance song; “Laudamus Te” from Mozart’s Mass in C-minor, “Dona Nobis Pacem,” “I See the Moon,” “Song for the Unsung Hero,” “A Winter Carol” and “Three Quotes” by Mark Twain, based on the writings of the famous American author.

The community is invited to enjoy an evening of wonderful choral music.

Students participating in the choir include:

Black Fox Elementary: (director Kristin Rader) Alla Dralyuk, Carly Chastain, Chandler Miles, Haley Esquinance, Hayley England, Jamie Murray, Laney Harris, Lexi Trueblood, Madeline Boshers and ShaDiamond Ballard.

Charleston Elementary: (director Amanda Szidiropulosz) Abigail Stewart, Allison Davis, Alyssa Taylor, Andrew Starnes, Angeles Bates, Emily Bean, Jacob Morris, Josh Douden, Kelsey Schrank and Ryann Duggan.

Hopewell Elementary: (director Sarah Burris) Aubrey Sims, Brooklyn Kyle, Chase Parris, Ellie Mills, Jenna Kraft, Kynslei Sims, Liv Davis, Makayla Biller, Morgan White and Reagan Wheeler.

Michigan Avenue Elementary: (director Cara Rogers) Allie Dill, Anna Garner, Annabel Patrick, Connor Goins, Katelyn Howell, Kierstyn Viola, Lily Churlik, Natalie Williams, Nick Brantley and Raegan Taylor.

North Lee Elementary: ( director Sandy Donegan) Anna Grace Owenby, Annabelle Pelley, Elizabeth Eachus, Emilee Thomas, Gabrielle Thompson, Garrett Nicodemus, Kayleigh Shoemate, Lizzie Goggins, MaKaylah Shoemate and Rachel Delgado.

Oak Grove Elementary: (director Fredda Burton) Alexis Brown, Britney Lee, Drake Norman, Emily Swafford, Hayden Wilson, Jackson Rice, Meredith Jones, Michelle Johnson, Syi Myers and Taylor Shutt.

Park View Elementary: (director Candice Atha) Camilla Rodriquez, Ellie Waters, Kameron Arrowood, Ki’Eviyon Rittenberry, Kira Stander, McKennah Pritchard, Miah Pritchard, Olivia Lawson, Sam Ferrara and Taylor Gladson.

Prospect Elementary: (director Jayne Taylor) Barton Dixon, Cambree Mayo, Cole Cooper, Dalton Sutton, Grace Cain, Kate Pennell, Lane Webb, Rachel Owens, Sam Hood and Tylor Thompson.

Taylor Elementary: (director Jason Streun) Abigail Thompson, Alexis Barnes, Angelina Velazquez, Ashley Rodas, Bashaar Al-Hussieni, Destiny Wright, Peyton Dobbs, Samuel Morgan, Tucker Hawkins and Tucker McCracken.

Valley View Elementary: (director Kathryn Roman) Bryan Smith,Ellie James, Hanna Arrowood, Hannah Deal, Ian Holt, Jackson Prater, Jessica Gray, Lexi Stinnett, Madison Golden and Paola Hernandez.

Waterville Community Elementary (directors Josh Dasher and Lindsay Miller) Ashely Burnette, Brenda Ortiz, Jaylee Centers, Lauren Aulerich, Makayln Clabough, Paige Lester, Riley Allison, T.J. Jones, Tiana Barham and Zack Patterson.