Lee wins SSAC CC top honor
by From Lee Sports Information
Nov 05, 2012 | 660 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CLINTON, Miss. — The Lee University women’s cross country team edged Southern Wesleyan University to claim the 2012 SSAC Cross Country championship.

The Lady Flames placed three runners in the top 11 to help them record a team score of 72. Southern Wesleyan was right behind, with 78 points.

With the win, the Lady Flames earn an automatic berth to the 2012 NAIA Women’s Cross Country Championships. The event will be held in Vancouver, Wash., on Nov. 17.

SWU’s Erica Segars posted a time of 19:08.50 to win the individual title. Brittany Aikens of Brenau University was second (19:12.39).

Lady Flames Cayce Bryan and Jessica Childers were third and fourth, respectively. Bryan had a time of 19:24.89 and Childers crossed the finish line at 19:34.46.

Joining Bryan and Childers in the top 11 and also earning SSAC All-Conference honors was Alexis Hewitt. The freshman had a time of 19:59.06.

Childers and Hewitt were named to the SSAC All-Freshmen Team-East with Childers the SSAC Freshman of the Year.

Storyie Miller was 26th (20:55.57) and Carissa Zabor was 28th (21:05.50).

Rachel Waltz’s time of 21:20.72 put her in 35th. Emily Carden (21:26.51) and Emily Arneson (21:31.82) were right behind at 36th and 37th.

Arneson, Bryan and Carden also excelled in the classroom and were placed on the SSAC All-Academic Team. Ashley Matthews was selected for the Musco Lighting Champions of Character Team.

Lee head coach Don Jayroe was also named the SSAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

Flames finish second

CLINTON, Miss. — Mike Walker and Said Ahmed finished in the top eight to lead the Flames to a second place finish at the 2012 SSAC Men’s Cross Country Championships.

Walker was fifth with a time of 26:20.29 and Ahmed placed eighth (26:46.00). As a result, both runners earned spots on the SSAC All-Conference Team and will most likely qualify for the 2012 NAIA Men’s Cross Country Championships.

William Carey University’s Josh Osoro was the fastest in the field of 89. He crossed the finish line with a time of 24:30.36.

Three Flames were clumped at 26th, 27th and 28th. Terris Elliott had a time of 28:26.37. Austin Stansky’s time was 28:32.31 and Camden Perez was right behind at 28:33.55.

Justin Knuth (28:43.85) was 35th and John Trollinger was 37th (28:48.07).

Elliott and Victor Rotich were both named to the SSAC All-Freshmen Team-East. Stansky, Adam Gullette and Zach Orrison earned spots on the SSAC All-Academic Team, while Orrison was selected for the Musco Lighting Champions of Character Team.