Lee trio NAIA All-Americans
by From Lee Sports Information
Dec 06, 2012 | 1200 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) released the 2012 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Team selections Monday afternoon. The teams were selected by the NAIA Volleyball All-America Selection Committee.

Lee junior outside hitter Irene Ojukwu was named to the second team.

Teammate Paula Martins, also a junior, earned a spot on the third team and sophomore Marija Zelenovic was honorable mentioned.

Earlier in the week, junior Rachel Cunningham was singled out as an NAIA Scholar-Athlete. To be named a scholar-athlete, a student must be a junior and maintain at least a 3.50 GPA.

The 2012 Lady Flames lost eight seniors from last year's squad, but still managed to rebuild quickly, winning the SSAC tournament and placing ninth in the NAIA National Championships.

Columbia (Mo.) senior setter Paula Ferreira was named the 2012 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball Player of the Year. Ferreira was the 2010 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball Player of the Year recipient and is the fifth person to win the award twice.

She is the second two-time winner from Columbia to win the award twice as Yang Zhe also won the award in 1997 and 1998. Ferreira was also the Tachikara National Championship Most Valuable Player.

Columbia's Melinda Wyre-Washington was named the 2012 NAIA Coach of the Year after leading the Cougars to their eighth national title appearance in school history.

Wyre-Washington also received the Coach of the Year award in 2004.

For the second-straight year the Coach of the Year and Player of the Year come from the same school. Concordia's (Calif.) Dan Fisher and Brooke Marino accomplished the feat last season.

Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball

All-America Selections

First Team

Name Institution Pos Yr Hometown

Christine Douglas*^ Biola (Calif.) OH Sr. Cypress, Calif.

Amy Weststeyn^ Biola (Calif.) MH So. Visalia, Calif.

Elena Berroteran Columbia (Mo.) L Sr. Caracas, Venezuela

Kahoriz Feliz Columbia (Mo.) OH Jr. Santo Domingo, Dom. Republic

Paula Ferreira$*^ Columbia (Mo.) S Sr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Madison Ekis Concordia (Calif.) OH Jr. Phelan, Calif.

Brooke Marino*^ Concordia (Calif.) OH Sr. Mission Viejo, Calif.

Jordan Holcomb Embry-Riddle (Fla.) OH Sr. New Smyrna Beach, Fla.

Kendra Schwein Hastings (Neb.) OH Sr. Highland Ranch, Colo.

Kristine Egebrecht Indiana Wesleyan MH Jr. West Chicago, Ill.

Kristin Pressley*^ Oklahoma Baptist OH Jr. Mansfield, Texas

Vanja Joksic Texas at Brownsville MH So. Gornji Milanovic, Serbia

Danica Markovic*^ Texas at Brownsville OH Jr. Subolica, Serbia

Alicia Olson Viterbo (Wis.) OH So. Eau Claire, Wis.

Second Team

Name Institution Pos Yr Hometown

Jordan Broady Bellevue (Neb.) S Sr. Johnson, Neb.

Chelsee Arnitz Biola (Calif.) MH Jr. Yorba Linda,Calif.

Gracee Gallarda Biola (Calif.) S Jr. Yorba Linda, Calif.

Mi Le Concordia (Calif.) MH Jr. Yantai, China

Reanna Schelhaas Concordia (Calif.) MH So. Los Alamitos, Calif.

Susan Rollman*^ Doane (Neb.) MH Sr. Humphrey, Neb.

Devon Jensen*^ Grand View (Iowa) OH Sr. Underwood, Iowa

Shayna Schacher Hastings (Neb.) MH Jr. Grand Island, Neb.

Yui Iwase^ Indiana Wesleyan S Sr. Plano, Texas

Sarah Becker Jamestown (N.D.) MH Jr. Rochester, Minn.

Irene Ojukwu Lee (Tenn.) OH Jr. San Paulo, Brazil

Evia Prieditis Madonna (Mich.) S Jr. Milford, Mich.

Sam Dougherty The Masters, (Calif.) OH Jr. Madera,Calif.

Ana Guerra*^ Texas at Brownsville MH Jr. Sao Paulo, Brazil

Third Team

Name Institution Pos Yr Hometown

Taylor Martin Embry-Riddle (Fla.) OH Sr. Orange Park, Fla.

Adriana Vazquez^ Embry-Riddle (Fla.) S Sr. Orlando, Fla.

Kaley Lyons^ Evangel (Mo.) MH Sr. Springfield, Mo.

Fernanda Ferreira^ Freed Hardeman (Tenn.) OH Sr. Minas Gerais, Brazil

Rachel Eubanks Georgetown (Ky.) OH So. Cincinnati, Ohio

Haley Beardsley Hastings (Neb.) S Sr. Sterling, Colo.

Lauren Crump Indiana East S Sr. Indianapolis Ind.

Breezy Strete Indiana East MH Sr. Troy Ohio

Paula Martins Lee (Tenn.) MH Jr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Molly Brewster MidAmeria Nazarene (Kan.) OH Sr. Lee's Summit, Mo.

Casey Gates Northwestern Ohio OH Jr. Jackson Center, Ohio

Sabra Clark Oklahoma Baptist S Sr. Andover, Kan.

Livia Caluori Point Park (Pa.) MH Sr. Uzwil Switzerland

Katie Flock Viterbo (Wis.) OH Sr. Sparta, Wis.

$- Denotes 2009 All-American

* - Denotes 2010 All-American

^ - Denotes 2011 All-American