Raiders, Mustangs, Bears dominate annual Day of Duals
by From Staff Reports
Jan 21, 2013 | 1138 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
EVENSVILLE — The local wrestling teams dominated the annual “Day of Duals” Saturday at Rhea County High School as the teams prepare to wrap up the regular season this week before the Region 3 Duals Thursday at the Raider Dome.

Second-ranked Cleveland High didn’t lose a single match Saturday posting shutouts of Rhea County, 81-0, Stone Memorial, 74-0, and a perfect 84-0 score against Cumberland County.

Walker Valley, ranked No. 8 in the latest Tennessee Wrestling Federation poll, gave up just a pair of pins in blowouts of Rhea County, 77-6 and Cumberland County, 78-6.

Fifth-ranked Bradley Central also got past Stone Memorial by a 47-25 tally.

The Bears will travel to Red Bank Tuesday evening as their final tune up before the region playoffs, while the Blue Raiders will tangle with the Mustangs at “The Stable” Wednesday in a meet that was postponed by weather conditions last week.

The winner of the Cleveland-Walker Valley meet will face Bradley in the region semifinals, while the loser will get top-ranked and defending state champion Soddy-Daisy.

Cleveland needed just over 10 minutes of mat time to stick eight pins against Cumberland County with the Jets forfeiting the other half dozen matches.

Against the host Rhea County squad, coach Jake Yost’s Raiders had the referee slap the mat in nine contested matches with a total mat time of 15:54.

Eight pins in 18:37 plus a trio of decisions highlighted the Cleveland victory over Stone Memorial.

Walker Valley won seven of the eight contested matches with Cumberland County by pin, plus got seven pins and a technical fall against Rhea County.

Bradley posted three pins, a technical fall and a pair of decisions, plus accepted three forfeits from Stone Memorial.

BLUE RAIDERS 81, Rhea County 0

113: Christopher Debien (C) won by forfeit. 120: Austin Stevison (C) won by forfeit. 126: Victor Barbosa (C) pinned Brayden Robinson, 1:56. 132: Taylor Bishop (C) pinned Vance Ives, 1:20. 138: Emmanuel Ospina (C) won by forfeit. 145: Aaron Oliver (C) pinned Kevin Hood, 3:13. 152: Josh Hamilton (C) pinned Jacob Reed, :45. 160: Sean Vonpotts (C) pinned Tanner Holsomback, 1:20. 170: Matthew Herd (C) pinned Brandon Crowe, 2:43. 182: Ethan West (C) won by forfeit. 195: Oleg Stukanov (C) pinned Jacob Gardenhire, 1:03. 220: John Gaither (C) pinned Stephen Moses, 2:43. 285: Koran Kennedy (C) dec. Daniel Cochran, 4-0. 106: Tristian Blansit (C) pinned Kristin Simmons, :51.

BLUE RAIDERS 84, Cumberland County 0

106: Tristian Blansit (C) won by forfeit. 113: Christopher Debien (C) pinned Shawn Ansell, 1:24. 120: Victor Barbosa (C) won by forfeit. 126: Austin Oliver (C) pinned Shawn Foster, 2:46. 132: Taylor Bishop (C) pinned Kendall Payne, 1:00. 138: Emmanuel Ospina (C) won by forfeit. 145: Aaron Oliver (C) won by forfeit. 152: Josh Hamilton (C) pinned Austin Hackerman, :37. 160: Sean Vonpotts (C) pinned Dalton Davis, 1:13. 170: Matthew Herd (C) won by forfeit. 182: Ethan West (C) pinned Samuel Pugh, :38. 195: Oleg Stukanov (C) won by forfeit. 220: John Gaither (C) pinned David Scavo, 1:56. 285: Koran Kennedy (C) pinned Timmy Billings, :33.

BLUE RAIDERS 75, Stone Memorial 0

120: Austin Stevison (C) pinned Christopher Brickle, :45. 126: Austin Oliver (C) won by forfeit. 132: Taylor Bishop (C) pinned Dakota McAdoo, 5:08. 138: Emmanuel Ospina (C) pinned Chris Lindsey, 2:40. 145: Aaron Oliver (C) dec. Darren Rosser, 9-4. 152: Josh Hamilton (C) dec. over Joseph Giattino, 4-2. 160: Aaron Lopez (C) pinned Cody Caruthers, 1:43. 170: Sean Vonpotts (C) won by forfeit. 182: Ethan West (C) won by forfeit. 195: Oleg Stukanov (C) pinned Justin Johnson, 3:49. 220: John Gaither (C) pinned Chase Eichner, :57. 285: Koran Kennedy (C) pinned Alexander Norris, 1:53. 106: Tristian Blansit (C) dec. Cody McCarl, 11-7. 113: Christopher Debien (C) pinned Chandler Brickle, 1:27.

MUSTANGS 77, Rhea County 6

126: Arrie Bramlett (WV) pinned Brayden Robinson, 1:51. 132: Austin Gregory (WV) pinned Vance Ives, :43. 138: Caleb Langford (WV) won by forfeit. 145: Lawrence Cotton (WV) pinned Kevin Hood, :34. 152: Ryan Hager (WV) pinned Jacob Reed, 1:04. 160: Micah Langford (WV) tech. fall Krischan Goins, 3:33 17-2. 170: Chase Gregory (WV) pinned Brandon Crowe, 2:45. 182: Chazz Fulford (WV) won by forfeit. 195: Ric Kennett (WV) pinned Jacob Gardenhire, 1:01. 220: Zack Miller (WV) won by forfeit. 285: Daniel Cochran (RC) pinned Samuel Dworak, 2:36. 106: Drake Haney (WV) pinned Kristin Simmons, :23. 113: Logan Smith (WV) won by forfeit. 120: Braxton Brewer (WV) won by forfeit.

MUSANGS 78, Cumberland County 6

120: Braxton Brewer (WV) won by forfeit. 126: Shawn Foster (CC) pinned Arrie Bramlett, 4:33. 132: Austin Gregory (WV) pinned Kendall Payne, 1:00. 138: Caleb Langford (WV) won by forfeit. 145: Lawrence Cotton (WV) won by forfeit. 152: Ryan Hager (WV) pinned Austin Hackerman, :47. 160: Micah Langford (WV) pinned Dalton Davis, :21. 170: Chase Gregory (WV) won by forfeit. 182: Chazz Fulford (WV) pinned Samuel Pugh, 1:13. 195: Ric Kennett (WV) won by forfeit. 220: Zack Miller (WV) pinned David Scavo, 2:41. 285: Samuel Dworak (WV) pinned Timmy Billings, :47. 106: Drake Haney (WV) won by forfeit. 113: Logan Smith (WV) pinned Shawn Ansell, 3:53.

BEARS 47, Stone Memorial 25

106: Toribio Navarro (BC) tech. fall Cody McCarl, 5:26 20-4. 113: Dyer Rose (BC) pinned Chandler Brickle, :29. 120: Dakota Bromley (BC) pinned Christopher Brickle, :49. 126: Dakota Ream (BCl) won by forfeit. 132: Taylor Kazy (BC) pinned Dakota McAdoo, 1:33. 138: Caven Rogers (BC) won by forfeit. 145: Darren Rosser (SM) dec. Stephen Scott, 9-6. 152: Joseph Giattino (SM) pinned Jacob Staton, 1:33. 160: Robbie Clark (BC) dec. Cody Caruthers, 6-2. 170: James Goins (BC) won by forfeit. 182: Landon Barlow (SM) major dec. Nathan Adams, 15-6. 195: Justin Johnson (SM) pinned Alex Forgey, :40. 220: Zachary McFarland (BC) dec. Chase Eichner, 7-1. 285: Alexander Norris (SM) pinned Jerry Johnson, 1:31.