Historical Society of COG Movements meeting set
May 12, 2013 | 831 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Historical Society
Dr. Jackie Johns
view slideshow (3 images)
The Historical Society of Church of God Movements will hold its 12th annual meeting May 30.

This year’s theme is “A Study of R.G. Spurling: His Legacy and Influence.” The focus will be on the founder of the Christian Union, which later gave rise to the various Church of God groups prominent in Pentecostalism. The meeting will be held near Spurling’s home area at the First Assembly House adjacent to Fields of the Wood at 10000 Highway 294 near Murphy, N.C.

Special presentations will be provided by Dr. James M. Beaty and Dr. Jackie Johns.

Beaty, author of the recently published biography of R.G. Spurling and professor emeritus at the Pentecostal Theological Seminary, will provide an overview of the life and ministry of R.G. Spurling.

Johns, a professor at the Pentecostal Theological Seminary and pastor of New Covenant Church of God in Cleveland, will present on the continuing influence of Spurling’s book, “The Lost Link.” Individuals may access The Lost Link online at: http://cogheritage.org/original_documents/.

The event is free to the public and lunch will be available for purchase at the Fields of the Wood Café.

Following the presentations and a brief business meeting of the Society, the group will travel nearby to the gravesite of R.G. Spurling for the conclusion of the day’s events.

The Historical Society of Church of God Movements began in 2002 to provide opportunities for representatives of the various denominations that use the name Church of God to better understand both common and unique aspects of history and heritage.

Society President Dr. Louis Morgan notes, “Membership is open to anyone and currently includes representatives from the Church of God of Prophecy, Church of God Mountain Assembly, Church of God, United Methodist Church, and The Church of God.”

Current officers of the Society are Dr. Louis F. Morgan (Church of God and Lee University), president; Robert George (Bradley County Historical Society), first vice president; Cary Ryan (The Church of God), second vice president; and Don Brock (Church of God of Prophecy), executive secretary and treasurer.

For more information see http://historicalsocietycgm.blogspot.com/.