Polk County 4-H’ers compete in Project Celebration Day
Jul 03, 2013 | 1111 views | 0 0 comments | 31 31 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Project Celebration Day
The Polk County 4-H members competed against other 4-H members from eight counties at the SEC Region Project Celebration.
view slideshow (2 images)
More than 50 Polk County 4-H members competed in the SEC Eastern Region Project Celebration Day activities held recently on the Cleveland State Community College campus.

Project Celebration brought together the best 4-H members in Souteast Tennessee. 4-H members competed in project demonstration and display, public speaking, bread baking, dairy poster and photography display contest.

Results and Participating in the project demonstration contest was 4-H members Riley Smith, first-place Beef; Shelby Maynor, third-place Horse; Tori Hardin, fourth-place Food Science; Rebecca O’Neal, thirdplace Food Science; Daniel Cox, first-place Recreation; Sydney Beauman, third-place Performing Arts; Micheal Ray, fourth-place Wildlife; and McKenzie Ledford, second-place Personal Development.

4-H members competing in the Public speaking contest were Riley Smith, fourth-grade Copper Basin Elementary School, Tina McGill, fifth-grade South Polk Elementary School, Keri Beth Cox, sixth-grade Chilhowee Middle School, Trea Waters, eighth-grade Copper Basin High School, and Choe McNelly, seventh-grade homeschool. Riley and Chloe placed second in their respective competions.

Participants in the Dairy Poster contest were Bailey Davis, Michael Ray, Morgan Frank, Landon Reese and Ethan McCracken.

Participants in the Portfolio and Exhibit contest were Josh Green, second-place poultry; Keri Beth Cox, first-place Sheep; Leah Greenwood, first-place Food Science; and Emma Wood, third-place Recreation.

Participants in the Photo contest were Natalie Allen, Cheyanne Burns, Hayleigh Divinsky, Kelby Fribbs, Leah Greenwood and Samantha Thomson all placing in the top five of their category.

Several participated in the Baking contest. Danial Cox, Patrick Long, Ben Stone, Baylee Ballew, Isaac Morris, Danial Ledford, Rebecca O’Neal, Shelby Maynor, Silas McNelly, Sklyer Nipper, Micheal Ray, Tori Harden, Tiara Mitchell, Sydney Bowman, Brooke Bargeron, Travis Stewart, Brandy Bargeron, Keri Beth Cox, Chole McNelly, Josh Green, and Ethan McNell all participated in the contest with many placing in the top three of their category.