Nominations being accepted by Pilot Club for 2014 SETOY
Dec 08, 2013 | 394 views | 0 0 comments | 34 34 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 Special Education Teacher of the Year competition.

Sponsored by the Pilot Club of Cleveland, the local competition is open to special education teachers for pre-K through grade 12, regardless of the grade structure or designation of the teacher’s school.

Applications are available from the central offices of Cleveland City Schools and Bradley County Schools or Pilot member Debbie Williams at 284-8718. Applications must be received by Jan 5, 2014.

Applicants may not be a member of a Pilot Club and may be employed by a public, private or parochial school system.

They must have a current Tennessee special education certificate and at leave five years’ experience, be actively teaching special needs students and have affected the lives of their students by exceeding minimal requirements.

A team of non-Pilot judges will evaluate the applicants and select the teacher to be honored by the Pilot Club of Cleveland. The club will honor its winner at one of its meetingss. The local winner will be entered in the statewide competition sponsored by the Tennessee District of Pilot International.

Each of the Pilot Clubs in the state may nominate a teacher. The Tennessee Special Education Teacher of the Year will receive a cash award and recognition at the District Convention in Murfreesboro on May 3, 2014.

Pilot International is a global organization of approximately 25,000 adult and youth members who are working together to improve the quality of life in communities throughout the world. Pilot’s service focus is helping people who are affected by brain-related disorders and disabilities through volunteer activities, projects and fundraisers.

Special education teachers are considered vital to improving the lives of special needs children and their families, hence the Special Education Teacher of the Year project adopted by the Tennessee District.