Candidates pick up 2014 election petitions
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Dec 29, 2013 | 2668 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Seven other potential candidates have picked up petitions to run for local office.

The busy 2014 election year has incumbents as well as newcomers and a few familiar faces who have decided to return to the political arena.

Louie Alford, Carol T. Searles, Briant Berry, Floyd Wade Jr., Robert D. Rominger, Shari Lynn Taylor and Garry D. Moore are the names added to the roll of 2014 candidates.

Deadline for the May County Primary is noon Feb. 20.

Candidates must have their petitions filed by that time, according to Bradley County Elections Office officials.

Jan. 3, 2014 will be the first day potential candidates will be able pick up petition paperwork for County General and State Primary races.

Slated for the May 6 Primary are: 10th District Chancellor, 10th District Criminal Court Judge, 10th District Attorney General, Public Defender, County Mayor, County Commission, County Trustee, General Sessions Judges Division One and Two, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Road Superintendent, County School Board Districts 2, 4 and 6, and Constables in all districts.

These races will be determined in the Aug. 7 General Election, which is also the Tennessee State Primary voting day.

Officials at the Bradley County Elections Office recently reported they have maintained a steady flow of residents making address changes as well as conducting other business.

Sixty-seven area residents have picked up petition paperwork.

Incumbent Circuit Court Judges Larry Puckett of Part 1 and Michael Sharp of Part 2 have picked up their reqirement papers.

Potential candidates for Circuit Curt Judge Part 3, William Brown, Sandra Donaghy and Andrew Freiberg, have acquired their forms to run for the seat being vacated when Judge Carroll Ross retires in 2014.

Amy Armstrong Reedy is only one of two Democrats who have picked up petition paperwork. She is seeking re-election to the Criminal Court. Richard Hughes has picked up a petition for re-election as the 10th Judicial District Public Defender.

Current Assistant District Attorney General Stephen Hatchett picked up papers for the 10th Judicial District Attorney General post. Steve Crump has also picked up paperwork for the 10th Judicial District Attorney General post.

Incumbent Bradley County Mayor D. Gary Davis is another incumbant who has picked up his paperwork.

Five potential candidates are vying for County Commission District 1.

Incumbent Terry Caywood, Denis Collins, Michael Hughes, Terry McDowell Jr., and Tom Collins, who is current Bradley County Road Superintendent have all shown interest in the seat.

Current commissioner Ed Elkins will not seek re-election.

In County Commission District 2, John S. Burns, William Glen Campbell and Thomas L. Crye as well as Jimmy Lynn Kendrick and Tammy S. Wingo have picked up petitions. Currently, Connie Wilson, who is not seeking re-election, and Louie Alford hold those seats.

Alford has also picked up petition paperwork.

County Commission 3 incumbent Brian Smith announced recently that he will not be in the race. Milan Blake, David Kelley, Johnny Mull and incumbent Democrat Jeff Morelock have picked up petitions for that district.

Howard L. Thompson, June Montgomery and incumbent Charlotte Jones have picked up forms for the District 4 County Commission post. Adam Lowe will not be seeking District 4 re-election but will be vying for a state representative position.

Carol T. Searles’ name has been added to the list of District 4 County Commission potentials.

Jeff Yarber had been the only candidate to pick up for District 5. He is the incumbent along with Bill Ledford.

According to the Elections Office, Briant K. Berry and former Cleveland City Councilman, Floyd Wade Jr., have now picked up paperwork for the seat in District 5.

In County Commission District 6, incumbents Mel Griffith and Robert D. Rominger have picked up petition paperwork as well as Tom D. Ledford, Ronny E. Keller and Daniel D. Rawls.

Both incumbents in District 7, Mark Hall and Bill Winters have also picked up petitions.

Mike Smith has picked up papework for his re-election to the County Trustee’s seat.

General Sessions Judge Division 1 and 2 positions are also up for vote in 2014.

Daniel Swafford, incumbent juvenile judge, is seeking re-election in Division 1 and Barrett Painter has picked up petition paperwork for the Division 2 seat, which is currently held by Sheridan Randolph, who has also picked up a petition.

Both incumbent Sheriff Jim Ruth and current State Rep. Eric Watson have picked up paperwork for the upcoming Bradley County Sheriff’s race. Also entering the race for Bradley County Sheriff is Garry D. Moore.

Incumbent County Court Clerk Gayla Miller is also seeking to keep her elected position as is Donna Alley Simpson, who is the incumbent County Clerk, and incumbent Register of Deeds Dina Swafford.

In the Bradley County Road Superintendent’s race, Robert L. Combs, Randall Davis and Sandra Knight are considering the position.

They have all picked up petition paperwork.

Five people have shown interest in the Constable District 1 race, including incumbent Donnie Hughes.

Also picking up petitions to date are Ronald Arthur, Daren E. Brantley, Thomas W. Kimsey and Charles V. Carroll.

In District 2, Richard Alford has picked up his paperwork.

Jason Corum has shown interest in the District 3 Constable’s race along with incumbent Jessie Hughes Jr.

In District 4, Kevin Crye has picked up paperwork, as well as incumbent Wayne Henry.

Steve R. Anderson was appointed to the 5th District Constable’s by the Bradley County Commission.

Anderson has now picked up petition paperwork to seek election in his own right.

Charles Dunson, Jeffery A. Lewis and incumbent Johnny D. Hicks have picked up paperwork for the District 6 seat and James “Edd” Lewis has picked up for Constable District 7.

Other key dates for potential candidates to remember are:

- Jan. 3, 2014 — First day to pick up petition paperwork for County General and State Primary races.

- April 3, 2014 — Noon deadline to turn petition paperwork back to the Bradley County Election Commission.

Other key dates for voters include:

- April 16 through May 1, 2014 — Early Voting will be held Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

- April 7, 2014 — Last day to register to vote for the May 6 County Primary.