Candidates pick up petitions for May, August primaries
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Feb 02, 2014 | 1232 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The list of potential candidates for the upcoming elections in the May primary continues to grow. Now petitions also can be picked up for the August primary elections.

The first cycle of the 2014 elections will be the May 6 county primary.

Deadline for petitions to be filed for the May county primary is noon Feb. 20.

The Bradley County Election Office is now also taking requests for absentee by-mail ballots from Armed Forces personnel, their spouses and qualified voters temporarily staying outside the territorial limits of the U.S. or District of Columbia, according to Elections Administrator Fran Green.

Slated for the May 6 primary are: 10th District Chancellor, 10th District Criminal Court Judge, 10th District District Attorney General, Public Defender, County Mayor, County Commission, County Trustee, General Sessions Judges Division One and Two, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Road Superintendent, County School Board Districts 2, 4 and 6, and Constables in all districts.

These races could be determined in the Aug. 7 general election, which is also the Tennessee State Primary voting day. Those unopposed races could be determined during the primary.

Eighty-one residents have picked up petition paperwork for the May primary.

Glen Cantrell has been added to the list for picking for County Commission District 1. Garry D. Moore has also picked up for Bradley County sheriff.

George Campbell has showed interest in Constable District 1. Bartlee Norton has picked up paperwork for District 4 County Commission; Doug Bennett and Jack E. Burke Jr., for County Commission 5; and Ellis Julian Laughter for County Commission 6.

Christopher J. Davis has also picked up petition paperwork for the County Mayor’s position held by incumbent D. Gary Davis.

Incumbent Circuit Court Judges Larry Puckett of Part 1 and Michael Sharp of Part 2, as well as potential candidates for Part 3, William Brown, Sandra Donaghy and Andrew Freiberg, have picked up petitions for the seat being vacated when Judge Carroll Ross retires in 2014.

Amy Armstrong Reedy is only one of two Democrats who have picked up petition paperwork.

She is seeking re-election to the Criminal Court. Richard Hughes has picked up a petition for his re-election as the 10th Judicial District Public Defender.

Current Assistant District Attorney General Stephen Hatchett picked up for the 10th Judicial District Attorney General post. Steve Crump has also picked up paperwork for the 10th Judicial District Attorney Generals post.

Six potential candidates are vying for County Commission District 1.

Incumbent Terry Caywood, Denis Collins, Michael Hughes, Terry McDowell Jr., Smith and Tom Collins, who is current Bradley County road superintendent, have all shown interest in the seat.

Current Commissioner Ed Elkins will not seek re-election.

In County Commission District 2, John S. Burns, William Glen Campbell and Thomas L. Crye as well as Jimmy Lynn Kendrick and Tammy S. Wingo have picked up petitions. Currently, Connie Wilson, who is not seeking re-election, and Louie Alford hold those seats.

Alford has also picked up petition paperwork.

County Commission 3 incumbent Brian Smith announced recently that he will not be in the race. Milan Blake, David Kelley, Johnny Mull and incumbent Democrat Jeff Morelock have picked up petitions for that district.

Carol T. “Peaches” Searles, Howard L. Thompson, June Montgomery, Norton and incumbent Charlotte Jones have picked up for the District 4 County Commission post. Adam Lowe will not be seeking District 4 re-election but will be vying for a state representative position.

Jeff Yarber had been the only candidate to pick up for District 5. Bennett and Burke have now been added to the list. Yarber is the incumbent along with Bill Ledford.

According to the Elections Office, Briant K. Berry and former Cleveland City Councilman, Floyd Wade Jr., have picked up paperwork for the seat.

In County Commission District 6, incumbents Mel Griffith and Robert D. Rominger have picked up petition paperwork as well as Tom D. Ledford, Ronny E. Keller and Daniel D. Rawls and Laughter.

Both incumbents in District 7, Mark Hall and Bill Winters have also picked up petitions.

Mike Smith has picked up for his re-election to the County Trustee’s seat.

General Sessions Judge Divisions 1 and 2 positions are also up for vote in 2014.

Daniel Swafford, incumbent juvenile judge is seeking re-election in Division 1 and Barrett Painter has picked up petition paperwork for the Division 2 seat, which is held by Sheridan Randolph, who has also picked up a petition.

Incumbent Sheriff Jim Ruth and current State Rep. Eric Watson, as well as Garry D. Moore have picked up paperwork for the upcoming Bradley County Sheriff’s race.

Incumbent County Court Clerk Gayla Miller is seeking to keep her elected position as is Donna Alley Simpson, who is the incumbent County Clerk, and incumbent Register of Deeds Dina Swafford.

In the Bradley County Road Superintendent’s race, Robert L. Combs, Randall Davis and Sandra Knight are considering the position as well as Bullins.

They have all picked up petition paperwork.

Five people have shown interest in the Constable District 1 race, including incumbent Donnie Hughes.

Also picking up petitions to date were Ronald Arthur, Daren E. Brantley, Thomas W. Kimsey and Charles V. Carroll.

In District 2, Richard Alford has picked up the required paperwork.

Jason Corum has showed interest in the District 3 Constable’s race along with incumbent Jessie Hughes Jr.

In District 4, Kevin Crye has picked up paperwork, as well as incumbent Wayne Henry.

Steve R. Anderson was appointed to the 5th District Constable’s by the Bradley County Commission.

Anderson has also picked up petition paperwork to seek election. He is joined now by Miller.

Charles Dunson, Jeffery A. Lewis and incumbent Johnny D. Hicks have picked up paperwork for the District 6 seat and James “Edd” Lewis has picked up for Constable District 7.

In the upcoming August primary, Cleveland City Council seats, school board, and House of Representatives positions will be voted upon.

To date, Charlie McKenzie has picked a petition up for Council 1, William Estes for Council 2, Dawn Rumbolt Robinson for Cleveland School Board 3, Peggy Ann Pesterfield for Cleveland School Board 4 and Thomas Cloud for Cleveland School Board 5.

Richard Shaw has picked up for the at-large position.

For Bradley County School Board, Vicki Jan Beaty has picked up for District 2, Dianna Ball Calfee and Troy Weathers for District 4, and Christine Critchfield and Tammy A. Magouirk for District 6.

John Stanberry has picked up petition papers for the State Executive Committeeman Republican Party District 9. Dan Howell and J. Adam Lowe have shown interest in the District 22 House of Representatives election. Kevin D. Brooks has also picked up for District 24 House of Representatives.

A key date for potential candidates to remember is:

- April 3, 2014 — Noon deadline to turn petition paperwork back to the Bradley County Election Commission regarding August primary ballots.

Other key dates for voters include:

- April 16 through May 1 — Early voting will be held Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

- April 7, 2014 — Last day to register to vote for the May 6 county primary.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections .com.