CSCC to induct 17 into Hall of Fame
by From CSCC Sports Information
Feb 09, 2014 | 485 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Cleveland State Community College has announced its 2014 Hall of Fame Class to be inducted Feb. 15 with a brunch beginning at 10:30 a.m. at the Mountain View Inn in Cleveland.

The brunch will precede the Cleveland State women’s and men’s basketball games vs. Walters State beginning at 2 p.m.

All inductees will be recognized between the women’s and men’s basketball games.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Class of 17 inductees will represent the sports of men’s and women’s basketball, women’s softball, baseball, golf and tennis, coaches and administrators, as well as recognize meritorious service to Cleveland State athletics. The class will represent Cleveland State athletics from 1979-80.

Athletes being inducted are Doug Armstrong, Charles “Bozo” Queener, Rodney Benson and Levi Scott, representing men’s basketball; Tracey Dixon James and Karen Armstrong Clark, women’s basketball; Norma Nelson representing softball; Tony Cavett, tennis; Bob McIntyre, golf; Ted Carson, Greg Geren, Tobin Davidson and Billy Butler, baseball; and Coach Ed Coates who served as an assistant coach in men’s basketball and baseball.

College administrators to be inducted are Dr. George Mathis (posthumously) who served as the college’s first dean of students from 1967-76 and Dr. L. Quentin Lane, who served as the president of the college from 1978-85. Sherra Witt, recently retired faculty member and dean of business and technology, will be recognized for her meritorious service for giving significant time and service to Cleveland State athletics.

Mike Policastro, athletic director, said, “I am really pleased that we will be able to build on last year’s inaugural class by adding those individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in their collegiate and professional careers.”

For further information regarding brunch and the day’s activities, contact the Cleveland State athletic office at 423-473-2271.