Polk County announces 4-H Public Speaking winners
Feb 16, 2014 | 884 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Polk 4-H
Fourth-grade participants in the Polk County Public Speaking contest.
view slideshow (5 images)
The Polk County 4-H Clubs held the County 4-H Public Speaking contest on Feb. 5.

Forty-six 4-H members from across the county met and competed in their grade level at First Baptist Church in Benton.

4-H is proud of the accomplishments of the many 4-H members that learn the valuable life skill of communications through Public Speaking, according to Greg Paxton, extension agent and county director.

“Contests such as 4-H Public Speaking help members gain skills that will remain with them throughout life,” he said.

This year many 4-H members entered their local club contest. The top speakers were invited to the county contest.

Awards presented in the fourth-grade division were first place Maleia Bigham from Copper Basin Elementary; second place, Will Paxton from Benton Elementary; and third place, Latasha Chambers from South Polk Elementary.

Participants in the fourth-grade division were Chase Bivens, Brock Trew, Marcy Cody, Relin Johnson, Madilyn Crane, Ashlie Jones, Megan Harbison and Emily Mason.

Awards presented in the fifth-grade division were first place Riley Smith from Copper Basin Elementary; second place, Michael Ray from Benton Elementary; and third place Katie Lowe from Benton Elementary.

Participants in the fifth-grade division were Haley Harper, Brianna Walker, Tatiana Lewallen, Wesley Trew, Megan Muncy, Briley Waters and Jacob Speights.

Awards presented in the sixth-grade division were first place Iris Wilson from Copper Basin Elementary; second place, Regan Holder from Copper Basin Elementary; and third place, Olivia Deloy from Copper Basin Elementary.

Participants in the sixth-grade division were Lily Roberts, Creed Smith, Allie Burns, Ashlee Burns, Chanlee Jones, Karly Kincaid, Danylea Mercado, Victoria Michealchuck, Katherine Moates, Jake Moorhouse and Meggie Woody.

Awards in the seventh-grade division were first place Sawyer O’Neal from Copper Basin High School; second place was Zoe Harbison from Chilhowee Middle School; and third place was Brandi Bargeron from Chilhowee Middle School.

Participants in seventh grade were Brandon Breedlove, Keri Cox, Drew Rogers, Angel Wallace.

Awards in the eighth-grade division were first place Skylar Hatcher from Chilhowee Middle School; second place, Chloe McNelly from the 4-H Home School Club; and third place, Dakota Prince from Chilhowee Middle School. Participation went to Belle Shell from Chilhowee Middle School.

All first place recipients will represent Polk County in the Eastern Region 4-H Public Speaking Contest which will be held on Feb. 27 at U.T. Chattanooga.

The 4-H clubs thanked First Baptist Church staff and members for the use of their facility. Volunteering to be judges were Jim Ledford, Gloria Risko, Terri Ford, Chris Spurling Jeff Pippin, Pete Pharr, Gail Pharr, Charlotte Cabrera and Betsy Switzer.