68 return qualifying petitions
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Mar 02, 2014 | 1590 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Eighty-seven Bradley County residents showed a level of interest in entering races for county government.

The Bradley County Elections Office reported Thursday that 68 people returned their qualifying petitions to enter the May 6 primary.

The final day to register to vote in the May 6 primary is April 7, and early voting begins April 16, according to Fran Green, Bradley County Election administrator.

The May 6 primary will be followed by the general and state primary in August.

Green is currently preparing the ballot, which will list the Republican and Democrat candidates for the voters.

Appearing on the ballot will be:

- Constable —

District 1

Darrin Brantley (R) , Charles V. Carroll (R), Thomas Kimsey (R) and Garry D. Moore (R).

District 2

Richard “Dickie” Alford (R).

District 3

Jason Corum (R) and Jessie Hughes Jr. (R)

District 4

Wayne J. Henry (R).

District 5

Steve Anderson (R) and Johnny Miller (R).

District 6

Charles Dunson Sr. (R), Cody Herron (R), Dewayne Hicks (R) and Jeffrey Lewis (R).

District 7

R.D. Jackson (R) and Brent Runyon (R).

- Circuit Court Clerk

Gayla Miller (R).

- Circuit Judge Part 1

Larry Puckett (R).

Part 2

Mike Sharp (R).

Part 3

William J. (Bill) Brown (R), Andrew Mark Freiberg (R) and Chal Thompson (R), who filed in Monroe County.

- County Clerk

Donna Alley Simpson (R).

- Chancellor

Jerri Saunders Bryant (R), who filed in McMinn County.

- County Commission

District 1

Terry Caywood (R), Denis L. Collins (R), Tom Collins (R) and Mike Hughes (R).

District 2

Louie Alford (R), John Burns (R), Thomas L. Crye (R) and Tammy Salmond Wingo (R).

District 3

Milan Blake (R), Jeff D. Morelock (D) and Johnny Mull (R).

District 4

Charlotte Peak Jones (R), June L. Montgomery (R), Carol “Peaches” Searles (R) and Howard L. Thompson (R).

District 5

Briant K. Berry (R), Jack E. Burke Jr. (D), Bobby Goins (R) Floyd Wade Jr. (R) and Jeff Yarber (R).

District 6

John David Cochran (R), Melvin “Mel” Griffith (R), Ronny E. Keller (R), Ellis Julian Laughter (D), Tom D. Ledford (R), Daniel D. Rawls (R) and Robert D. Rominger (R).

District 7

Pam Edgemon (D), Mark Hall (R) and William E. (Bill) Winters Jr. (R).

- County Mayor

D. Gary Davis (R).

- Criminal Court Judge 10th Judicial District

Sandra N.C. Donaghy (R), Amy Armstrong Reedy (D) and Van Irion (R), who filed in Monroe County.

- District Attorney General

Steve Crump (R) and Stephen Hatchett (R), who filed in McMinn County.

- General Sessions Judge

Division 1

Daniel R. Swafford (R).

Division 2

Barrett T. Painter (R), Sheridan C. Randolph (R) and Shari Lynn Tayloe (R).

- Public Defender

Richard Hughes (R).

- Register of Deeds

Dina Swafford (R).

- Road Superintendent

Sandra N. Knight (R) and James “Edd” Lewis (R).

- Trustee

Mike Smith (R).

- Sheriff

James Richard Ruth (R) and Eric Watson (R).