Flame pair named NCCAA All-Region
by From Lee Sports Information
Mar 16, 2014 | 459 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Image 1 / 2
Lee University photo LEE UNIVERSITY junior Cory Billingsly was named to the NCCAA All Mid-East Region first team. The Sweetwater native averaged 17.6 points per game for the Flames this past season.
BLUEFIELD, Va. — The National Christian College Athletic Association’s (NCCAA) Men’s Basketball All Mid-East Region teams was announced, following the region championship game on Friday evening.

Union University’s Corieon Pearson was selected as the Mid-East Region Player of the Year, while Bluefield College’s Richard Morgan and Tennessee Temple’s Jeff Haarlow were named Co-Coach of the Year. Selections were determined by votes from Mid-East Region head coaches.

Lee University was represented by two players. Junior Cory Billingsley was named to the five-member first team. He averaged 17.6 points per game and shot 50 percent from the field, 40 percent from beyond the arc and 88 percent from the field throw line.

Tyrone Roberts was a second-team selection. The talented post player came on strong late in the season. In less than 20 minutes of playing time per game, Roberts averaged 11.4 points and 4.5 rebounds per game. He was a 66 percent free throw shooter.

NCCAA All Mid-East Region

First Team

Cory Billingsley Lee University

Elliot Johnson Tennessee Temple University

Kearsten Marion Bluefield College

Corieon Pearson Union University*

Miles Rice Campbellsville University

* Denotes Region Player of the Year

Second Team

Josh Nesbit Bluefield College

AJ Roberts Union University

Ty Roberts Lee University

Bryon Sanford Trevecca Nazarene University

Jerrett Smith Tennessee Temple University

Co-Coach of the Year

Jeff Haarlow Tennessee Temple

Richard Morgan Bluefield College