Polk 4-H members participate in annual 4-H Clover Bowl
Apr 13, 2014 | 616 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Clover Bowl
Polk County fourth-grade Clover Bowl team is shown.
view slideshow (5 images)
Do you know the official state butterfly or what is the 4-H motto?

How many square feet are in one acre of land or what side does the fork go at a place setting?

If you didn’t know the answer to some of these questions you might want to ask one of the 60 4-H members across Polk County who participated in the Polk County 4-H Clover Bowl.

Clover Bowl is a 4-H program offered to all 4-H members. In Clover Bowl, 4-H members learn about Tennessee and 4-H history and facts along with information pertaining to agriculture and family and consumer science.

Starting in January, 4-H members began preparing for their school’s Clover Bowl by studying possible questions given to them by their 4-H agent.

In February, local school Clover Bowls were set and 4-H members competed by 4-H club to determine who would represent their school in county competition.

After school teams were determined, teams from all of Polk County’s elementary and Middle schools attended the Polk County Clover Bowl on April 3.

The team winning the county Clover Bowl in the fourth-grade division was from Benton Elementary. Team members were Megan Harbison, Will Paxton, Owen Hayes, Abe bates, and Dylan Osborne.

The county fifth-grade Clover Bowl Team was also from South Polk Elementary. Team members included Ben Stone, Tatiana Lewallen, Wesley Trew, Cameron Coffey and Kiley Day.

The county sixth-grade Clover Bowl Team was from Copper Basin Elementary. Team members included Melody Davis, Levi Deal, Tiara Mitchell, Wyatt Standridge and Anna West.

The County seventh-grade Clover Bowl Team was from Copper Basin High School. Team members included Brooklyn Payne, Sawyer O’Neal, Sierra Deal, Emmyllie Cross and Blayne Collins.

The eighth-grade county Clover Bowl Team was from Copper Basin High School. Team members included Xam Buenavista, Brady Ledford, Timothy Leslie, Beanna O’Neal and Eli Payne.

All teams will travel to Knoxville to the University of Tennessee Campus to compete against 32 other teams from the Eastern Region 4-H Clubs on May 14.