Voting off to good start
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Apr 20, 2014 | 930 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Wednesday was the first day for early voting and, according to Bradley County Election Office officials, it was a busy day for voters to cast their ballots in the upcoming May 6 Primary elections.

The trend subsided some Thursday and the three early voting sites were closed Friday in observance of the beginning of the Easter holiday weekend.

According to Fran Green, Bradley County Elections administrator, 1,844 people had cast their ballots by closing Saturday.

That is slightly higher compared to the 2010 elections that also held an Easter Good Friday holiday when 1,526 voters had taken advantage of early voting.

Voters were able to cast their votes again on Saturday. Early voting is being held at Suite 103, in the Gallery at Sterling Pointe located at 2554 Dalton Pike, Bradley Square Mall and at the Bradley County Elections Office in the Courthouse Annex.

The hours are Monday-Friday from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m., and on Saturday from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

Early voting ends May 1.

Bradley County Election Commissioners approved the August State Primary and General elections candidates petitions as well as approving election day workers.

The August State Primary and General will be followed by the State General elections in November.

Candidates for the Primary and General elections are:

- Charleston City Council:

Walter Goode and Francis McCartney.

- Cleveland City Council District 1: Charlie McKenzie and Floyd Wade Jr.

- Cleveland City Council District 2: Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton.

- Cleveland Council-at-Large: Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks.

- Cleveland City School Board: District 3 — Dawn Robinson; District 4 — Peggy Pesterfield; and District 5 — Thomas Cloud.

- Cleveland School Board-at Large: Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill.

- Cleveland Mayor — John Thomas Rowland.

- Bradley County School Board: District 2 — Vicki Beaty; District 4 — Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee; and District 6 — Christine Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik.

- Tennessee House of Representatives District 22 — Dan Howell and J. Adam Lowe.

- Tennessee House of Representatives District 24 — Kevin Brooks.

- District 9 State Executive Committeman — Jimmy Wayne Bilbo and John Stanberry.

- District 10 State Executive Committeewoman — Emily G. Beaty.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections. com regarding absentee voting, or by calling 728-7115.