Walker Valley students win statewide FBLA awards
by Special to the Banner
May 11, 2014 | 573 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
AWARD-WINNING Walker Valley High School students pause for a celebratory photo at a recent Future Business Leaders of America conference in Chattanooga.
view slideshow (2 images)

Walker Valley High School’s Future Business Leaders of America recently captured several outstanding chapter and individual awards at the Tennessee FBLA conference recently held in Chattanooga.

The local high school business chapter received the Gold Seal Award of Merit, which was awarded to only eight chapters in the state of Tennessee.

This award is given to chapters which increase membership, are actively involved in community and school service projects and who have a partnership with local industry and business.

The chapter also received second place in the collection of children’s books and was recognized for contributions made to the state and national FBLA scholarship foundations and the March of Dimes.

Joe Bryan, Walker Valley’s FBLA adviser, was named the Outstanding FBLA Adviser of the Year for Tennessee. Bryan has been working with Walker Valley’s FBLA for 11 years, and, with other club advisers, he has grown the chapter in membership, community service, individual and chapter awards and has seen the club advance to National Competition.

Several students received individual awards and will advance to national competition in Nashville in June.

The students receiving awards included:

- Victoria Jones — first place for Electronic Career Portfolio;

- Blake Mason and Christian Wyatt — second place for Computer Game and Simulation Programming;

- Zyan Kirkland — third place for Business Ethics Open Event;

- Caitlin Lay and Bryson Bradley — third place for Community Service Project;

- Yoori Shin and Lauren Rogers — third place for Management Decision Making;

- Jordan Nelson — fourth place for FBLA Principles and Procedures;

- Madison Johnson — fifth place for Introduction to Business Communication; and

- Hunter Carroll and Mark McFadden — fifth place for Marketing.

Walker Valley FBLA members Laura Scarbrough, Mikayla Lumpkin, Matthew Adams, Alex Metaxas, Madison Johnson, Stephanie Bowman and Olivia Snyder received the Business Achievement Award Future Level.

This award is given to students who completed and submitted 10 activities required by the national organization.

Walker Valley’s Business Department teachers serve as advisers to FBLA and include Joe Bryan, Tennessee Adviser of the Year 2014; Becky Brady, Region 8 Coordinator and member of the State Executive Council; Monty Frazier; Bryant Blackmon; and Scotty Smith.

FBLA is the world’s largest student business organization, with over 250,000 members. It is headquartered in Reston, Va., and the first chapter was organized in Johnson City in 1942.