Primary election returns certified
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
May 14, 2014 | 1444 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Fran Green
Fran Green
The Bradley County Election Commission met Tuesday afternoon to go over a report filed by Roach and Reed, P.C., the accounting firm that has the task of making sure voting numbers are correct for certification.

The commissioners reviewed the report and certified the May 6 Primary elections.

Joe Reed explained the findings in his report. Reed was also present at the Bradley County Elections Office on the evening votes were tallied for the offices of sheriff, district attorney general and others.

“We performed a detailed test of the computer-tabulating program using test data which was independently prepared by our firm. The test encompassed every candidate listed on the ballots. At least one precinct from each of the seven districts was used in performing the test,” noted Reed in his report.

After reviewing data from the election, Reed noted one voter at E.L. Ross had not signed the poll list and a voter at Cleveland High School had not completed the voting process, resulting in the ballot not being cast.

With the election certified Tuesday, Bradley County Elections Administrator Fran Green and her office are now looking forward to the August General and State Primary to be held Aug. 7.

Early voting schedules have been established.

A number of winners in the May 6 Primary will advance to the August General election.

They are:

- Criminal Court Judge 10th District — Amy Armstrong Reedy (D), Sandra Donaghy (R)

County Commission candidates are:

- District 3 — Milan Blake (R), Jeff D. Morelock (D), Johnny Mull (R)

- District 5 —Jack E. Burke Jr. (D), Bobby Goins (R), Jeff Yarber (R)

- District 6 —Julian Laughter (D), Daniel D. Rawls (R), Robert D. Rominger (R)

- District 7 — Pam Edgemon (D), Mark Hall (R), William E. (Bill) Winters Jr. (R)

In the upcoming State Primary elections, these candidates have qualified:

- Charleston City Council

Walter Goode and Francis McCartney

- Cleveland City Council District 1

Charlie McKenzie

- Cleveland City Council District 2

Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton

- Cleveland Council-at-Large

Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks

- Cleveland City School Board

District 3 — Dawn Robinson

District 4 — Peggy Pesterfield

District 5 — Thomas Cloud.

- Cleveland School Board-at Large

Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill

- Cleveland Mayor — John Thomas Rowland

- Bradley County School Board

District 2 — Vicki Beaty

District 4 — Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee

District 6 — Christine Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik

- Tennessee House of Representatives District 22 — Dan Howell and J. Adam Lowe

- Tennessee House of Representatives District 24 — Kevin Brooks.

- District 9 State Executive Committeman — Jimmy Wayne Bilbo and John Stanberry

- District 10 State Executive Committeewoman — Emily G. Beaty

Key dates for voters include:

- July 18 to Aug. 2 — Early Voting for the Aug. 7 General and State Primary will be held Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Additional information can be found at, or by calling 728-7115.