Elections approaching
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Jul 04, 2014 | 1058 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Voter registration will end Tuesday

July 8 is the final day to register to vote in the Aug. 7 Bradley County General and Tennessee Republican and Democratic Primary elections.

According to Bradley County Elections Administrator Fran Green, registrations must be received in her office by July 8, or postmarked July 8.

Early voting begins July 18 and continues until Aug. 2.

Several candidates for office will be determined after having won their primaries in May.

Candidates for local and General Elections in August are:

- Charleston City Council

Walter Goode and Francis McCartney.

- Cleveland City Council District 1

Charlie McKenzie and Floyd Wade Jr.

- Cleveland City Council District 2

Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton.

- Cleveland Council-at-Large

Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks.

- Cleveland City School Board

District 3 — Dawn Robinson.

District 4 — Peggy Pesterfield.

District 5 — Thomas Cloud.

- Cleveland School Board-at Large

Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill.

- Cleveland Mayor — John Thomas Rowland.

- Bradley County School Board

District 2 — Vicki Beaty.

District 4 — Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee.

District 6 — Christine Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik.

As preparation for early voting begins, voters are reminded three polling places will be set up to cast early ballots between 9 a.m. and end daily at 6 p.m. On Saturdays, voters can take advantage beginning at 9

a.m. and vote until 4 p.m. According to election officials, at present, the Mobile Voting Precinct will be set up at the BI-LO grocery store on McGrady Drive. The Bradley Square Mall site and the Bradley County Elections Office in the Courthouse Annex are being prepared.

Additional information about absentee voting can be found at www.bradleyelections.com or by calling 728-7115.

- Bradley County Commission

District 1 — Terry Caywood and Mike Hughes.

District 2 — Louie Alford and Thomas Crye.

District 3 — Jeff Morelock, Milan Blake and Johnny Mull.

District 4 — Charlotte Peak-Jones and Howard Thompson.

District 5 — Jeff Yarber, Bobby Goins and Jack Burke Jr.

District 6 — Robert Rominger, Dan Rawls and E.J. Laughter.

District 7 — Mark Hall, Bill Winters and Pam Edgemon.

- Tenth District Criminal Court Judge

Amy Reedy and Sandra Donaghy.

A follow-up story on the state and federal primary races to be held on Aug. 7 will appear in a future edition of the Daily Banner.