Candidates are listed in County Generals
Jul 27, 2014 | 668 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Registered voters in Bradley County still have another week in which to mark their ballots during early voting for the County General and Tennessee State Primary elections.

Early voting concludes in three sites on Saturday, Aug. 2. After that, the lone remaining day to cast a ballot is the conventional Election Day which is set for Thursday, Aug. 7.

Early voting hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday. Three satellite sites are again operating for early voters: the Bradley County Election Commission Office in the Courthouse Annex, the Bradley Square Mall in Suite 400 which is the former Regis hair salon between JCPenney and the eBay store (North Satellite), and the mobile voting unit in the BI-LO Shopping Centewr at McGrady Drive and APD-40 (South Satellite).

Election Day hours in Bradley County’s 17 polling places will be 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In spite of all the paid advertisements in print and broadcast, the countless news stories in local and regional newspapers, the Internet and social media, and the plethora of road signs, some out there might still ask, “Elections? Who’s running?”

We’re glad you asked. We’re always happy to enlighten.

As mentioned, these August elections involve County General and State Primary races. Many are uncontested, their outcomes having already been settled in the County Primary elections on the Republican ticket in May.

Here’s a quick look at the County General races (vote for two candidates in the Bradley County Commission races; in all others, vote for only one):

- Circuit Court Judge (Part 1): Larry Puckett-R.

- Circuit Court Judge (Part 2): Mike Sharp-R.

- Circuit Court Judge (Part 3): Andrew Mark Freiberg-R.

- Chancellor: Jerri Saunders Bryant-R.

- Criminal Court Judge: Sandra Donaghy-R and Amy Armstrong Reedy-D.

- District Attorney General: Steve-Crump-R.

- Public Defender: Richard Hughes-R.

- Bradley County Mayor: D. Gary Davis-R.

- Bradley County Commission: First District, Terry Caywood-R and Mike Hughes-R; Second District, Louie Alford-R and Thomas L. Crye-R; Third District, Milan Blake-R, Johnny Mull-R and Jeff D. Morelock-D; Fourth District, Charlotte Peak-Jones-R and Howard Thompson-R; Fifth District, Bobby Goins-R, Jeff Yarber-R and Jack Burke Jr.-D; Sixth District, Dan Rawls-R, Robert Rominger-R and E.J. Laughter-D; Seventh District, Mark Hall-R, Bill Winters-R and Pam Edgemon-D.

- Bradley County Trustee: Mike Smith-R.

- General Sessions Judge (Division 1), Daniel Swafford-R.

- General Sessions Judge (Division 2), Sheridan C. Randolph-R.

- Bradley County Sheriff: Eric Watson-R.

- Circuit Court Clerk: Gayla Miller-R.

- County Clerk: Donna Alley Simpson-R.

- Register of Deeds: Dina Swafford-R.

- Road Superintendent: Sandra Norton Knight-R.

- Bradley County Constable: First District, Garry D. Moore-R; Second District, Richard “Dickie” Alford-R; Third District, Jason Corum-R; Fourth District, Wayne Henry-R; Fifth District, Steve Anderson-R; Sixth District, Dewayne Hicks-R; and Seventh District, Brent Runyon-R.

- Bradley County School Board: Second District, Vicki Beaty-I; Fourth District, Dianna Ball Calfee-I and Troy Weathers-I; and Sixth Districdt, Christy Griffith Critchfield-I and Tammy Magourik-I.

- Charleston City Commission: Walter S. Goode-I; and, Frankie McCartney-I (to fill unexpired term).

- Cleveland Mayor: Tom Rowland-I.

- Cleveland City Council: At-Large, Richard L. Banks-I and Jonathan Porter-I; First District, Charlie M. McKenzie-I and Floyd Wade Jr.-I; and Second District, Bill Estes-I and Lasala Upton-I.

- Cleveland School Board: At-Large, Charlie Cogdill-I and Richard J. Shaw-I; Third District, Dawn Robinson-I; Fourth District, Peggy Pesterfield-I; and Fifth District, Tom Cloud-I.

We will list candidates in the Tennessee State Primary races in our Monday edition.

Until then, remember ...

Early voting concludes on Saturday, Aug. 2.

The last day to vote will be the traditional Election Day on Thursday, Aug. 7.