Candidates listed in State Primaries
Jul 28, 2014 | 976 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Bradley County residents who are marking their ballots now in early voting, or who will be on the traditional Election Day on Aug. 7, are making their choices in several Tennessee State Primary races, as well as in County Generals.

Candidates, and their respective races in Bradley County, were listed in Sunday’s edition of the Cleveland Daily Banner.

Candidates in the various state primary races are listed today. Voters are reminded in order to cast a state primary ballot, they will be asked to declare either Republican or Democrat.

Winners in the state primary races will advance to the Tennessee State General elections in November.

Candidates in the Democratic Primary include:

- Governor: Charles V. “Charlie” Brown, Kennedy Spellman Johnson, William H. “John” McKamey and Ron Noonan.

- U.S. Senate: Terry Adams, Gordon Ball, Larry Crim and Gary Gene Davis.

- U.S. House of Representatives (Third Congressional District): Mary H. Headrick.

- U.S. House of Representatives (Fourth Congressional District) Lenda Sherrel.

- Tennessee Senate (9th Senatorial District): No candidate.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (22nd Legislative District): No candidate.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (24th Legislative District) No candidate.

- State Executive Committeeman (9th District): Jimmy Wayne Bilbo, Steve Farner and Marshall (Jodie “Moe”) Moster.

- State Executive Committeewoman (9th District): Sally Love.

- State Executive Committeeman (10th District): Chris Anderson, Billy Joyner and Kenneth D. Love.

- State Executive Committeewoman (10th District): Betty Ann Allgood and Sylvia Cintron.

Candidates in the Republican Primary include:

- Governor: Mark Coonrippy Brown, Bill Haslam, Basil Marceaux Sr. and Donald Ray McFolin.

- U.S. Senate: Christian Agnew, Lamar Alexander, Joe Carr, George Shea Flinn, John D. King, Brenda S. Lenard and Erin Kent Magee.

- U.S. House of Representatives (Third Congressional District): Chuck Fleischmann and Weston Wamp.

- U.S. House of Representatives (Fourth Congressional District): John Anderson, Scott DesJarlais, Oluyomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr., Steve Lane, David R. Tate, Jim Tracy and Michael S. Warden.

- Tennessee Senate (9th Senatorial District): Mike Bell.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (22nd Legislative District): Dan Howell and J. Adam Lowe.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (24th Legislative District): Kevin D. Brooks.

- State Executive Committeeman (9th District): Bill Landrum and John S. Stanbery.

- State Executive Committeewoman (9th District): June Richesin Landrum.

- State Executive Committeeman (10th District): Oscar Brock.

- State Executive Committeewoman (10th District): Emily G. Beaty.

Local voters will also have the opportunity to vote on the retention of a variety of state judges. These include the justices on the Tennessee Supreme Court as well as Court of Appeals and Court of Criminal Appeals seats.

Early voting concludes in three sites on Saturday, Aug. 2. After that, the lone remaining day to cast a ballot is the conventional Election Day which is set for Thursday, Aug. 7.

Early voting hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday. Three satellite sites are again operating for early voters: the Bradley County Election Commission Office in the Courthouse Annex, the Bradley Square Mall in Suite 400 which is the former Regis hair salon between JCPenney and the eBay store (North Satellite), and the mobile voting unit in the BI-LO Shopping Centewr at McGrady Drive and APD-40 (South Satellite).

Election Day hours in Bradley County’s 17 polling places will be 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Now that we’ve presented the list of candidates in both the Bradley County General races and the Tennessee State Primaries, we urge locally registered voters to go out and take advantage of one of your most basic — yet precious — rights as an American citizen.


Your partisanship is not of immediate concern. Whether you are Republican, Democrat or Independent, or whether your preference is another of the many political affiliations in this country ... we ask only this.

Just do it.

Your vote will make a difference.

Your vote will also make a statement.